Review: Ignited (Unclaimed Series Book 2) by Laurie Wetzel

Posted: November 30, 2015 in Reviews, Young Adult
Tags: , , , ,

ignited

 

 

 

 

 

Author:  Laurie Wetzel

eBook, 327 Pages

Published in 2015 by Wise Ink Creative Publishing

Genres:  Young Adult, Paranormal Fantasy

Synopsis: After surviving an attack from a demon that killed her friend, Maddy Page thought the worst was over.

It’s not.

Word is spreading through the supernatural world about Maddy, the mortal girl with rare gifts. Some want to use her powers; others want to destroy her. One wants to protect her—her boyfriend, an angel named MJ.

MJ knows that the demon that attacked Maddy was sent to collect her by someone very powerful. Someone he has tried and failed to stop before. MJ can’t beat him, but he will do whatever it takes to keep Maddy safe, even if it means turning his back on his own kind.

My Review: Okay, I liked this book as much as I liked Unclaimed.  I probably read it even faster, as I needed some answers! The story of Maddy and MJ flows easily to this second book in the series.  It’s almost as if they are one book, which I appreciate.  Sometimes you dig into a sequel and you are either inundated with information you already know, or you are completely lost from the start.  That doesn’t happen here.  It is a seamless transition.

Wetzel’s writing is still on par.  In this book Maddy and MJ are still desperate to be together while at the same time unable to completely trust each other with their secrets.  Maddy is trying to learn more about herself and her abilities, and MJ is trying to prevent all out war on earth.

When I got to the end of the book, I was shocked.  Not by the story (although there is plenty of tense moments), but because I wasn’t ready for it to end!  I actually went back a page and then forward and couldn’t believe I was staring at the Acknowledgements!  I wanted, no, needed to know what happens next!  Quite a cliffhanger we are left with.  I am sure the 3rd book will be worth the wait, but time will drag on until then.

Another great book by Ms. Wetzel.  Please hurry with #3!

Disclaimer:  I received this book from the author free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment