Review: The Wronged Sons by John Marrs

Posted: November 22, 2013 in New Adult, Reviews
Tags: , , ,

sons

Author:  John Marrs

Paperback, approximately 400 e-book pages

Published in 2013 by John Marrs

Reader Category:  Adult

Synopsis:  What would you do if the person you loved suddenly vanished into thin air?

Catherine’s cosy life as a housewife and mum-of-three is quickly thrown into disarray when husband Simon disappears without explanation. She is convinced he hasn’t left by choice as confusion and spiraling debts threaten to tear her family apart.

Meanwhile Simon has begun a carefree new life travelling the world. And he’s determined not to disclose his past to all he meets, even if it means resorting to extreme and violent measures.

But why did he leave?

Catherine only gets her answer 25 years later when Simon suddenly reappears on her doorstep.

During their furious final confrontation, they discover the secrets, lies and misunderstandings that tore them apart, then brought them face-to-face one last time.

My Review: In his debut novel, John Marrs has created a story that left me on the edge of my seat.  The twists and turns I never saw coming kept me awake at night.  I couldn’t put it down and finished it in 24 hours.  I was hooked from the Prologue. 

This well thought out story is told from the perspectives of Catherine and Simon Nicholson in both past and present tenses.  The back and forth worked here because just as the story was starting to unravel in the present tense, it suddenly shifted to the past which I think made for great cliff hangers.

There were a lot of jaw dropping moments and times that I gasped and covered my eyes thinking, “No, that did NOT just happen!”  I could really go on and on here, spilling my guts about the plot and how much I loathe Simon Nicholson, but for fear of giving away too much of the story, I will decline.  You simply must read this book for yourself.

Well done John Marrs.  Keep the stories coming!

Related articles:

Interview with John Marrs via The Bibliophilic Book Blog

Disclaimer:  I received this book from the author free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

Comments
  1. Oh I am definitely going to have to shuffle the order of books to read now! Thank you I’m excited now 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for taking the trouble to read and review my book. Obviously I’m so happy you enjoyed it, but thanks so much for reviewing it both here and on Amazon. I’m a happy man!

  3. […] Review: The Wronged Sons by John Marrs […]

  4. […] Review: The Wronged Sons by John Marrs (bookloversattic.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Cindy says:

    Thank you mr. Mars for writing way outside the box. Your debut was my absolute favorite book this year. I am still speechless at how you left me feeling. We’ll done, very well done.

Leave a Reply

