Review: Upload by Mark McClelland

Posted: November 11, 2013 in New Adult, Reviews
Tags: , , ,

upload

Author:  Mark McClelland

Paperback, 277 pages

Published in 2012 by lulu.com

Reader Category:  Adult

Synopsis:  His criminal past catching up with him, a troubled young man seeks escape into digital utopia by uploading his consciousness into a computer — just as first love casts his life in a new light. In this thrilling near-future science-fiction novel, Mark McClelland explores the immense potential of computer-based consciousness and the philosophical perils of simulated society.

My Review: This book reminded me of a mix between Total Recall and Tron.  Our antihero, Raymond is not totally unlikeable.  Naturally the crime that he committed had me scratching my head at his decisions, but I also found myself having a degree of sympathy for him.

McClelland’s ability to describe not only the technical scenes, but the many layers of the “created” worlds was exemplary.  I am glad that he not only included the flowers and beautiful aspects that one would hope to see in a fantasy world, but the dark and ugly parts that would have to serve as a counterbalance as well.  The story is well thought out, eerily projecting what may be possible in our near future.  A good mixture of science fiction, morality and love can be found here.

Although I often found myself struggling through some of the more technical passages, I found the story fascinating.  I would recommend it to any science fiction fan.

Disclaimer:  I received this book from the author free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

Comments
  1. […] was exemplary… A good mixture of science fiction, morality and love.  –Deanna, from the review of Upload on her blog, The Book Lover’s […]

Leave a Reply

