Review: Testimony

Posted: October 10, 2013 in New Adult, Reviews
Tags: , ,

testimony

Author:  Anita Shreve

Paperback, 305 pages

Published in 2008 by Back Bay Books

Reader Category:  Adult

From the Publisher:  Enter a world upended by the repercussions of a single impulsive action.  At an exclusive New England boarding school, a sex scandal unleashes a storm of shame and recrimination.  The men, women, and teenagers affected – among them the headmaster, struggling to contain the scandal before it destroys the school; a well-liked scholarship student and star basketball player, grappling with the consequences of his mistakes; his mother, confronting her own forbidden temptations; and a troubled teenage girl eager to put the past behind her – speak out to relate the events of one fateful night and its aftermath.

My Review:  First let me start by saying that I did like this book.  I was captivated by the story and once I started, couldn’t stop reading.

That being said, the fact that this is written in 20 different voices was somewhat of a drawback for me.  I quickly started to realize that I needed to make a list of characters as I was starting to forget who they were if they popped up again later.  Certain voices were written in first person and others were in third person.  One of the voices had 38 chapters between their first and second appearance.

I understand why she wrote it this way.  Had it simply been written from the headmaster’s perspective (as it originally was), some details wouldn’t be known by him, hence the need for multiple view points.  Nonetheless, it was a little ADD for me.

Other than my issue with the multiple voices, Testimony was a well-written book.  The premise of the story could have been taken from the headlines of a New England newspaper, highlighting how one night of drinking and recklessness can blemish a small town and leave those caught in its wake forever scarred.

Comments
  1. Amber Writes says:

    Definitely adding this to my TBR list now! Thanks for reviewing it.

  2. DoingDewey says:

    This sounds really interesting, but I can see where the multiple perspectives would get to be too much! I’m always disappointed when I have trouble keeping track of the characters in a book.

Leave a Reply

