Teaser Tuesdays October 8, 2013

Posted: October 8, 2013 in Teaser Tuesdays
Tags: , ,

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of Should be Reading.  Everyone is invited to play along.  Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • Be careful not to include spoilers!
  • Share the title and author as well so that others can add the book to their To Be Read list!

I know, I know, I said that I was reading The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima, but I just couldn’t get into it.  I then tried The Children of Hurin by J.R.R. Tolkeing, but I felt like I was just reading a family tree.  After picking up Testimony by Anita Shreve I didn’t put it down until I was almost half way through so figured that I would stick with what works!  Here is my teaser for today:

“You told me you would love me forever.  I think that is not true now.”

testimony

From GoodreadsAt a New England boarding school, a sex scandal is about to break. Even more shocking than the sexual acts themselves is the fact that they were caught on videotape. A Pandora’s box of revelations, the tape triggers a chorus of voices–those of the men, women, teenagers, and parents involved in the scandal–that details the ways in which lives can be derailed or destroyed in one foolish moment.

Writing with a pace and intensity surpassing even her own greatest work, Anita Shreve delivers in TESTIMONY a gripping emotional drama with the impact of a thriller. No one more compellingly explores the dark impulses that sway the lives of seeming innocents, the needs and fears that drive ordinary men and women into intolerable dilemmas, and the ways in which our best intentions can lead to our worst transgressions.

Comments
  1. Great teaser…I enjoyed this book. Thanks for sharing…and here’s MY TUESDAY MEMES POST

  2. Alice Audrey says:

    It’s pretty rare for it to stay true.

    Great teaser. Please check out my teaser.

  3. I’ve enjoyed all the Anita Shreve books I’ve read, including this one. Good teaser.
    My Teaser is from AFTER ALL THESE YEARS.

Leave a Reply

