Thoughtful Thursday 9.26.13

Posted: September 26, 2013 in Thoughtful Thursday
Tags:

dogThoughtful Thursday is a weekly post where I share all of my bookish thoughts.  Call it a weekly digest if you will.  Stop by and tell me what’s on your mind! 

Here are my thoughts for September 26, 2013:

Happy Thursday!  Today I am forced to face my growing TBR list.  I recently admitted to Cleo at Cleopatra Loves Books that I have at least 100 books on my shelves that I have not read (gasp!).  I don’t know how it happened.  I know that I have a serious book addiction, but 100?  And I only know that there are ‘at least’ 100 as that is when I started to sweat and stopped counting.

My next course of action is to somehow order them.  I’m not quite sure how I’m going to go about this.  Every time I’m sure I know what I’m going to read next, I find yet another book that catches my eye and my whole reading world is thrown into chaos!  Maybe there is some sort of book-shock therapy, or a 12-step program that can help.

Tell me, how do you manage your TBR list?

signature

Comments
  1. We both need that program 😉 I’ve been good and not bought anymore but I keep getting offered free ones and my fingers refuse to say NO 😉 Great post and thank you very much for the link 🙂

  2. “Every time I’m sure I know what I’m going to read next, I find yet another book that catches my eye and my whole reading world is thrown into chaos! ”
    This happens to me too 😦

  3. bibliobeth says:

    Oh dear. I am in the same boat as you. I have soooo many books that I haven’t read yet and I can’t stop buying more – it’s literally a sickness!! 🙂

  4. The best thing for too many TBR books? After lovingly gazing at them? Pick a date, pick a number…pick a series or an author….dig in, read…when that goal is met and you’re still having fun, you’re going to notice that your TBR pile is looking kind of skimpy…only replace half the books…(Okay, this only worked for me for one month…babysteps, ya know?) You have a wonderful site! its kind of peaceful and restful! Here’s Tome Tender’s http://tometender.blogspot.com/

    • Thanks for the advice! I think that once I have them cataloged, I will definitely just start picking a random number and go with it. I feel somewhat overwhelmed when I sit and stare at the shelves, making it difficult to determine what to read next! Thanks for stopping by! ~Deanna

Leave a Reply

