Thoughtful Thursday 9.12.13

Posted: September 12, 2013 in Thoughtful Thursday
Tags:

dogLike most of us, the majority of the books that I read are for pleasure. For the most part, reading for me is one of my greatest joys. Sure, the books I choose are interesting, but they don’t always cause me to stop and think. Every once in a while I do come across a book that makes me pause and reflect on the world or life in general.   Have you read a book recently that has caused you to stop and give thought to something deep and meaningful?  Or do you want to just talk about something that is on your mind? If so, tell me about it!

Here is mine for September 12, 2013:

I am going to talk about a movie today rather than a book (gasp!).  Now don’t get excited, it’s not a new eagerly anticipated movie, but a children’s movie that I have watched multiple times with my son.  Any of you have (or have had) small children know that you can’t just watch a movie once (or even twice).  You have to watch it over and over until you have memorized the lines, can sing all of the songs and laugh in all the right places.

The movie that has me thinking this week is Pixar’s Wall E.  Now I am not an environmentalist.  I don’t own any electric vehicles (but am not opposed to them).   I don’t chastise people for using plastic instead of paper at the grocery store, nor do I bring my own bags (I have my own bags, but am too lazy and forgetful to bring them with me).  And when my son was an infant I used disposable diapers instead of cloth.

If you have seen Wall E, you know that it is about a robot who is left on Earth (with his cockroach sidekick) to clean up our planet, compacting and moving trash into neat piles.  No organic life grows on Earth, it is left desolate and filthy.  The human population have abandoned terra firma for floating cities much like cruise ships.  These people are now so grossly over weight that they no longer walk, but are transported around on what look like floating lounge chairs.  During his daily routine, Walle E finds a small seedling and decides that he is going to protect it and help it grow.  What follows is a struggle to keep the plant alive while convincing humans that Earth can once again be inhabitable.

While there are many issues brought to light in Wall E (consumerism, nostalgia, environmental problems, waste management, the immense impact humans have on the Earth), I am just going to touch on our impact on Earth.  After repeated viewings of Wall E, I am forced to reflect on what our planet will look like in the future.  What am I leaving for my son?  He goes to school and learns about Recycle, Reuse, Reduce, and yet we fill up our garbage toter with trash every week.  I drive down our street and see other toters filled to overflowing.  We eat out and take home styrofoam containers with food that we can’t possibly consume in one sitting.  All of our over-processed foods come in containers that populate our land fills.   We drive giant SUV’s that guzzle gas and leave our air less than desirable.

I am left to wonder, are we headed for the same fate?  Are we doing enough to ensure that our children (and their children, etc.) have a clean place to live in the future?  Is there some small thing that we can change about our habits that will help protect our planet?

What are your thoughts?

signature

Comments
  1. Christy says:

    I love WALL E. I think that movie is great because it makes people think. I do many things that would make environmentals shriek in horror. However, I try to live by a quote from Gandhi, “Be the change you want to see in the world.”; with that in mind, I feel little changes can make a difference. It took me awhile to remember to bring in my own bags but now it is automatic. I hope that someone seeing my bags will remember to bring in theirs. We can’t control what others do but we can be an example of what we hope to see.

    • Hi Christy. I totally agree. I don’t bring home doggie bags (boxes?) in styrofoam anymore, and I don’t buy eggs in styrofoam containers. I figure one less person throwing these into our garbage dumps can’t hurt! ~Deanna

Leave a Reply

