Review: The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon

Posted: September 8, 2013 in New Adult, Reviews
Tags: , ,

girl

Author:  Stephen King

Hardback,  219 pages

Published in 1999 by SCRIBNER

Reader Category:  Adult

From the Publisher:  The world had teeth and it could bite you with them anytime it wanted.  Trisha McFarland discovered this when she was nine years old.  At ten o’clock on a morning in early June she was sitting in the back seat of her mother’s Dodge Caravan, wearing her blue Red Sox batting practice jersey (the one with 36 GORDON on the back) and playing with Mona, her doll.  At ten thirty she was lost in the woods.  By eleven she was trying not to be terrified, trying not to let herself think, This is serious, this is very serious.  Trying not to think that sometimes when people got lost in the woods they got seriously hurt.  Sometimes they died.

My Review:  I must admit that I am relieved to be done reading this book.  As is per King’s style, this book is chock-full of description.  At times (and I hate to admit this), I found myself skimming ahead in the pages to see when the action would pick up.  While the story moved along, and we followed nine year old  Trisha’s plight through the woods, there wasn’t a “gotcha” moment until very late in the book.  For me it was page 190 of this 219 page book.  Waiting for that moment at times made this a somewhat laborious read.

Stephen King is still a great writer, but for me, this isn’t on the list of one of his better books.  That being said, as I have mentioned in previous posts, I was forced to stop and reflect on my own nine year old child and consider whether he is equipped with tools that would help him cope with such moments of distress.  So for that I am glad that I stuck with it.

While this book did not make it to my list of favorites, it is still classic King and worth a read if you are a fan.

Comments
  1. I find king too descriptive for my tastes. It took me 2 weeks to get through IT. His books always sound so interesting though and I think it’s why they translate well to screen…because they can be edited! Carrie is on my tbr pile at the min. I keep putting it off…

    • Yes, he is definitely hit or miss for me. I really enjoyed Dolores Claiborne, couldn’t get through Dreamcatcher. His new mini series for Under the Dome is good. I have the book but haven’t cracked it open yet. Should be interesting!

  2. bibliobeth says:

    Hiya, I’m a big King fan but I definitely agree with you, it’s not one of his best!

Leave a Reply

