Review: Bosley Goes to the Beach: A Dual-Language Book In English and Spanish

Posted: September 8, 2013 in Children's, Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

bosley

Author: Tim Johnson

Published in 2013 by The Language Bear

Reader Category:  Children’s

From Goodreads:  Designed to teach your child new words and phrases in a new language while enjoying a beautifully illustrated, wholesome bedtime story.

Bosley Bear gathers his toys and goes to the beach to make lots of new friends and learn lots of new words. Discovering that other animals at the beach have interesting capabilities like flying or swimming, Bosley realizes that he has something that makes him special in his own way.

My Review:  This book came to me as a review request by the author.  As I was reading, I put on my “As a mother would I…” cap and am pleased to say that, yes I would use this book series to encourage my child to learn another language.   Initially I was a little worried when I saw the complete translation on each page, but being that only a few select words are highlighted to the reader, my worries went away.  This book is not attempting to teach sentences or entire phrases to children, it is merely trying to teach a few words at a time.  I must admit that I learned a few new words myself!

A great story accompanied by great artwork, Bosley helps children learn that everyone has unique skills and we can all appreciate each other for what we bring to the world.

I would definitely recommend this book to friends with small children who are looking for exposure to different languages.

 

 

Leave a Reply

