Thoughtful Thursday 9.5.13

Posted: September 5, 2013 in Thoughtful Thursday
Tags:

dog

I must admit that the majority of the books that I read are for pleasure. For the most part, reading for me is one of my greatest joys. Sure, the books I choose are interesting, but they don’t always cause me to stop and think. Every once in a while I do come across a book that makes me pause and reflect on the world or life in general.   Have you read a book recently that has made you stop and give thought to something deep and meaningful?  If so, tell me about it!

Here is mine for September 5, 2013:

This week I am reading The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon by Stephen King.  I know, I know, Stephen King writes a lot of horror novels, how can I find any deep meaning in one of his books?  Let me tell you.

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon is about a nine year old girl who is lost in the woods after being separated from her mother and brother who are too busy arguing to notice that she has left the hiking trail that they are on to go to the bathroom.  This little girl has to use skills she has learned from her mother (although limited) and her instincts to survive.  Terrified and alone (or so she hopes), she wills herself to keep moving in search of people in the hopes of being rescued.

I have a nine year old son who is my only child.  The thought of him being lost in the woods (or even the mall) for ten minutes let alone a few days scares me to no end.  Have I taught him to never leave a trail without me?  Have I taught him to ration his food?  Have I taught him which plants are poisonous and which are not?  I know that this sounds extreme, and he is too busy playing sports for us to even think about going on a hike in the woods, but I wonder if I have given him enough life lessons to survive without me for ANY period of time.

My husband I and have friends who also have an only child close to my son’s age.  We often laugh and joke about simple things like tying their shoes for them (even they know how) because it is just faster than waiting for them to do it.  We reflect on how demanding they are with our time and energy because they can be, as there is no sibling to compete with for our attention.

When I sit and think about it, I am surely doing him a disservice.  I need to start giving him life skills to survive on his own.  I know that I can’t teach him common sense, but I can ensure that he is self-reliant and independent.

So yes, a Stephen King novel DID send me deep in thought.  I look forward to teaching my son skills to be a productive, confident adult in the future that is coming way too fast.

girl

Comments
  1. You’ve welcome I look forward to reading your answers

  2. Just found your blog on Book Blogs! Great review of Stephen Kings book. I have found great insight from several of his books, The Green Mile, Shaw-shank Redemption to name a few.

  3. Book Blather says:

    I stopped NOT reading for pleasure after Uni – life’s too short! lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

