Thoughtful Thursday 8.29.13

Posted: August 29, 2013 in Thoughtful Thursday
Tags:

dog

I must admit that the majority of the books that I read are for pleasure. For the most part, reading for me is one of my greatest joys. Sure, the books I choose are interesting, but they don’t always cause me to stop and think. Every once in a while I do come across a book that makes me pause and reflect on the world or life in general.   Have you read a book recently that has made you stop and give thought to something deep and meaningful?  If so, tell me about it!

Here is mine for August 29, 2013:

This week I am reading I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak.  When I first picked it up and read the back I thought it sounded interesting, but had no idea the potential impact it would have.  I read The Book Thief and was very moved by the story and the plight of the Jewish people during World War II.  Not to lessen the tragedy of that time in world history, it is a well known subject that has been written about for years.

I Am The Messenger reminded me that people struggle every day.  They struggle financially, emotionally, and physically.  They are hungry, abused, and lonely.  We so often get caught up in our own lives, failing to realize that there are many people out there who have it worse than us.

Thank you, Markus Zusak, for reminding me that I have a wonderful life.  I am loved by my husband and son, I have a roof over my head, and wonderful friends and family to fill my days with great memories.

messenger

From Goodreads:  Ed Kennedy is an underage cabdriver without much of a future. He’s pathetic at playing cards, hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey, and utterly devoted to his coffee-drinking dog, the Doorman. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery.

That’s when the first ace arrives in the mail.

That’s when Ed becomes the messenger.

Chosen to care, he makes his way through town helping and hurting (when necessary) until only one question remains: Who’s behind Ed’s mission?

Leave a Reply

