Musing Mondays August 19, 2013

Posted: August 19, 2013 in Book Review
Tags:

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB from Should be Reading.

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

  • Describe one of your reading habits.
  • Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
  • What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
  • Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying about it.
  • Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
  • Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books.

I was not always a book addict.  While I always loved to read, I don’t think that I valued books the way that I do now.  When my son was born, almost 9 years ago, I found myself cherishing children’s books.  Their bright illustrations and adorable stories drew me in and I was hooked!  As he grew, so did our library and together we found ourselves in love with books!

We have over 700 books now and anytime we walk into a book store (new or used), we simply cannot help ourselves and end up leaving with an armload.  While I often say “No” to the myriad of toys that he begs for, I almost always so “Yes!” to books!  Even the library is dangerous for us!  With all of the beautiful cover artwork and tempting titles, we could spend hours perusing.

I have heard that when you read aloud to your children (no matter their age), you instill in them a love of reading.  I believe this to be true and am proud to say that I have created a brand new book addict!  I am also sure that our reading together has helped him be able to read 3 years above his grade level!  I see us reading together for years to come!

I believe that every room should have books (which makes my non-reader husband cringe) and would love to have a home library some day.  As I sit here and type, I am looking into what is now my formal dining room and transforming it in my mind’s eye to a beautiful library.  Off to convince my husband…

library

 

 

Comments
  1. caitemaire says:

    isn’t that a lovely dream….

  2. toni d. says:

    I completely agree with you. My mother used to read to me a lot while I was a baby, and while I was growing up I can’t recall a time that we weren’t cuddled up reading. I grew up always wanting books. She was the same as you, she could say no to toys, but she would never say no to books. She encouraged me to read (I remember her getting me about 20 Sweet Valley High books in one go, I was 8 I think), and my reading skills were definitely advanced for my years. By the time I was 12 I was reading John Grisham, Bram Stoker, Arthur Golden… anyway, well done for bringing another book lover into this world! Hopefully I can do the same when my turn comes. 🙂

    I mused about reading styles if you’d like to share yours.

  3. Eustacia says:

    That looks so gorgeous! I currently stay in a one-room apartment (student budget, sigh), so I suppose “every room has books”, but when I do get a bigger home, I’ll want a room turned into a mini-library! :p

  4. DoingDewey says:

    I still fondly remember reading with my mom and I think it’s amazing that you’re reading your son. The world needs more book lovers 🙂

  5. cleopatralovesbooks says:

    I read lots to both my children (now grown up) and loved every moment of it. There are some wonderful children’s books out there. My daughter became a huge reader, when she visits one of her first questions is ‘What new books do you have?’ My son however never read a great deal but loved stories, so he had books on tapes or CD’s and now he is a member of the writing society at Uni where he is doing an illustration course – so who knows maybe one day he will write his own book!

    • That is great. Good luck to your son! There are a ton of great children’s books! My son wants to be a movie maker one day, and I can’t help but think that all of the books we have read together have sparked his imagination into something great some day!

Leave a Reply

