Musing Mondays August 12, 2013

Posted: August 12, 2013 in Book Review
  Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB from Should be Reading.

 

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

  • Describe one of your reading habits.
  • Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
  • What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
  • Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying about it.
  • Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
  • Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

Here is my musing…

  • Tell us what you are reading right now – what you think of it so far; why you chose it; what you are (or aren’t) enjoying about it.  I have had the hardest time settling on my next book.  Right now I am trying to read Tithe by Holly Black.  I chose it because of the cover (pasted below along with the summary).  Honestly, I really want to stop reading it as I can’t find myself connecting with the main character, Kaye.  She is a brash sixteen year old who drinks, smokes and swears and I find myself not liking her at all.  I won’t give up, as I would really like to see if I change my mind as I keep reading.  I am actually a little bummed that this was marketed as a young adult book as I wouldn’t necessarily want my child to read it.

tithe

Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad.  Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother’s rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home.  There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms – a struggle that could very well mean her death.

Comments
  1. DoingDewey says:

    I like the cover too! It’s too bad it’s not as good as the cover suggests.

    • I am so bummed so far! I just keep uncovering more unsavory characters! I feel like it’s not what the cover and the summary promise it to be. I know there is a genre for this type of story, but when you are expecting one thing and you get another, you just end up disappointed. ~Deanna

      • DoingDewey says:

        I agree! I almost always dislike a book that turns out not to be what I expected. Just goes to show that decent summaries are very important. And, occasionally, that I should read them better… I’m not proud of it, but sometimes it’s not the summary, it’s me, haha.

  2. Blue collar NJ! Where I was born and raised!

  3. Valentina says:

    That’s too bad about Tithe. It does look good, but if you can’t connect to the character it makes a hard reading experience.

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2013/08/musing-mondays.html

  4. Sonia Lal says:

    I haven’t read this book, but I want to.

Leave a Reply

